Hong Kong Pacific Diabetes & Endocrine Centre
繁體

简体
endocrine diseases

Hong Kong Pacific Diabetes
& Endocrine Centre

Adrenal Gland

Adrenal gland is an endocrine gland sitting on top of both kidneys. Adrenal gland is responsible for releasing stress hormones such as cortisol and catechalamine. It also produces an important hormone aldosterone which regulates the body fluid balance and osmolarity.

Adrenal tumor can be functioning or nonfunctioning. There are three main functioning adrenal tumors: Conn’s adenoma, pheochromocytoma and Cushing’s syndrome. These three tumors are important causes of secondary hypertension, and they account for 1-2% of all hypertension. The age of onset is usually below age 50.

Conn’s adenoma is characterised by overproduction of mineralcorticoid hormone (aldosterone) by the adrenal glands. Excessive aldosterone causes renal sodium retention and potassium loss. This results in expansion of body sodium content and hypertension. Patient will also have hypokalaemia (low potassium level) and may present with tetany, myopathy and palpitation.

Pheochromocytoma is a catecholamine-secreting tumor arising from adrenal medulla. Though rare, it is an important cause of hypertension as it can be fatal if undiagnosed. Pheochromocytoma can present as episodic hypertension, headache, nausea, sweating, chest pain, anxiety, abdominal pain or high blood glucose. Worsely, it can be complicated with heart attack, stroke, arrhythmia, hypotension and even sudden death.

Cushings syndrome results from chronic excess cortisol secretion. Cortisol is a stress hormone, it has also other primary function of increasing blood sugar through gluconeogenesis, aiding in fat, protein, and carbohydrate metabolism and suppressing the immune system. Patient suffering from cushing’s syndrome presents as moonface, marked weight gain, hirsutism, menstrual irregularity, hypertension, high blood glucose, myopathy and osteoporosis. Patient may have mental disorder as well.

亞太糖尿及內分泌中心
ENG

简体
內分泌疾病

亞太糖尿及內分泌中心

腎上腺疾病

腎上腺是屬於內分泌系統的一組腺體,位於腎臟的上方。腎上腺負責製造和分泌腎上腺素,控制身體的新陳代謝。醛固酮 (aldosterone)、鄰苯二酚胺(catecholamines) 和腎上腺皮質醇 (cortisol)都是腎上腺所分泌的重要腎上腺素,負責控制身體水份及電解質的平衡,幫助人體面對壓力。如有腎上腺疾病引致腎上腺素分泌過高或過低,都會影響身體的正常功能。

腎上腺瘤包括功能性和非功能性。功能性的腎上腺瘤可分三種,包括康氏症(Conn’s adenoma)、嗜鉻細胞瘤(pheochromocytoma)和庫欣氏症候群(Cushing’s syndrome)。它們是導致繼發性高血壓的重要成因,大約佔所有高血壓的1至2%,患者年齡一般為50歲以下。

康氏症(Conn’s adenoma)的成因是腎上腺皮質部份出現不正常腫瘤(通常屬良性),令腎上腺分泌過多醛固酮;過多的醛固酮會令身體吸收過量的鈉,而排出過多的鉀。過多的鈉及鹽份會導致血壓高,增加患血管疾病的機會。嚴重的高血壓更會引致心臟衰竭而猝死。過少的鉀質則會出現疲倦、四肢無力、心跳及麻痺等症狀。

嗜鉻細胞瘤(pheochromocytoma)是由於腎上腺髓質出現腫瘤,它同樣會導致血壓高,如未能及早診斷及接受切除手術,嗜鉻細胞瘤是可致命的。患嗜鉻細胞瘤的病徵包括陣發性高血壓,引致頭痛、嘔吐、出汗過多、心絞痛、焦慮、腹痛、血糖過高,病情嚴重時更會導致心肌梗塞、中風、心律不正、低血壓,甚至猝死。

另外,腎上腺腫瘤引發的庫欣氏症候群(Cushings syndrome),乃由於腎上腺皮質醇長期持續增加所引起。腎上腺皮質醇主要的功能包括調節蛋白質、醣類及脂肪的新陳代謝、維持血壓及心臟血管功能、減緩免疫發炎反應,也可幫助身體應付壓力。如患庫欣氏症候群,患者體重會增加,臉圓、皮膚變薄、毛髮增生、月經失調、血壓高、血糖高、肌肉無力及骨質疏鬆等,嚴重患者會有精神錯亂情况。